A |family| who crafts together…

In case you didn’t already know, we’re moving to Florida next month! We put the house on the market Sept 5 and are finally under contract.  A nice, solid contract with legit buyers who are actually qualified and don’t want an arm and a leg from us.  But for the last 5 weeks or so, we have spent EVERY SINGLE WEEKEND in exile from our own home due to showings.  This has been the first weekend in a long time that we’ve been able to sit at home and chill.  It’s been glorious!  I’ve been sick and have some serious pain in my back and neck, and Derek took off to run some errands today, so I decided to entertain our toddler via crafts.  I could just sit and not move much and crafting is one of my favorite past times.  Win win!

Ella got her very own pair of scissors for her 3rd birthday last week and has not put them down since.  The kid goes on these meditative cutting frenzies.  She blocks out the world and just cuts. Cuts. Cuts.  She asks for stuff to cut!  So, I decided I’d incorporate her new skill into the craft: a good old fashioned mosaic made with scraps of paper she cut herself.  Genius, if I do say so myself!

Now, I need to tell you this.. I had some serious delusions of grandeur when dreaming up this little project.  I figured that Ella and I would sketch out a design first–a snowy house with a horse and trees or our smiling family.  Then we’d thoughtfully place the pieces of paper with like colors together and make a mosaic that would be worthy of framing.  Yeah, no.  Not so much.  In fact, when we were done, Ella just wanted to cut it!  Fanatic, I tell you.  But I realized that the final product isn’t always the most important thing.  It’s the process.  And the joy in just spending time together.

So, we started cutting until our fingers hurt.  I got all fancy with different prints and patterns. What a silly idea–I didn’t even use them!

DSC_0033e

Then we planned our design:

DSC_0035e

And then got to gluing.

DSC_0036e

More planning.

DSC_0043e

And then more gluing.

DSC_0039ee

DSC_0041e

I realized Ella was done when she tried putting her scissors through our masterpiece.  I had another idea.  We flipped the paper over and I signed our names.  I started making a rainbow heart around our names, then Ella grabbed the black marker.  My Virgo and OCD tendencies went into overdrive.  There’s no black in the rainbow!  But, once again, I took the lead from our toddler and reveled in her joy.  Here’s our “signature:”

photo 1e

I learned a lot from our kid today.  I need to slow down.  The finish line doesn’t look the same for everyone.  And if its appearance changes along the way, IT IS OK.  Yes, it really is ok.  It’s about the memory that’s being created.  And we made a beautiful memory today.  Scissors, glue, paper scraps, Ella Violet and Mamma.

xoxo ~Marisa

P.S. If you haven’t checked out my co-authored new blog, please do.  We’re proud of this new endeavor. We call ourselves DaguerreoTypes.

What do you think?

