Overnight Oatmeal Recipe

Before we get to the down and dirty of this recipe, let me start out by telling you how much I love it.  I love it.  A lot.  And I swear by it.  I have shed some pounds and I think I owe some of the credit to this little breakfast (that and working out 4 days a week).  It’s quick and simple, and you can create a variety of flavor combos while using the same basic recipe starter.

It also has chia seeds!!! If you don’t have a clue as to what they are, and have the time to do a little research, it would be reading well worthwhile.  They’re very trendy right now, and for good reason.  They help make me feel fuller longer and keep my energy level more stable throughout the day.  Pretty freaking amazing if you ask me.  And they’re all natural.  Cha cha cha chia!  (If you’re reading this–and you know who you are–thank you for the jingle.  I will never eat them again without that damn song in my head!)

So here we go.  Overnight oatmeal.  AKA cold oatmeal.  FKA summer porridge.

DSC_0026

Basic starter recipe:

Using glass half-pint (jelly) Mason jars, mix the following:

  • 1/4 cup Old Fashioned oats (not the quick cook ones)
  • 1 teaspoon chia seeds
  • 1/4 cup plain greek yogurt
  • 1/3 cup lowfat or soy milk (or almond or rice or whatever you use)
  • 1 teaspoon honey

Stir or shake up well.

Next comes the fun part–adding your toppings and making fun flavor combos.

DSC_0028

Choose your fruits and then fill up the jars the rest of the way with them.  I just did blueberries, bananas, and strawberries and jammed them in there.

DSC_0031

Screw on the lid and then put them in the fridge overnight.  In the morning, you have a great little grab ‘n go breakfast you can eat at your desk.

DSC_0033

Ideas for other flavor combos (I’ve made all of these):

  • peanut butter (about 1 tablespoon) and banana
  • cocoa powder (unsweetened baking kind–1 teaspoon)  and peanut butter
  • cocoa powder and cinnamon
  • cinnamon and applesauce
  • vanilla extract and raspberries
  • blueberries and almonds
  • banana and walnuts

I could go on and on!

Depending on what you put in them, they are in the 245-300 calorie range.  It doesn’t seem like much, but you’d be surprised how far they take you through your morning to lunch.  I love them and was never a big oatmeal eater until now.

If you try making these, I’d love to hear how they turn out.

Have a great week 🙂

~M

3 responses to “Overnight Oatmeal Recipe

  1. Omg I agree when you said you are not much of an oatmeal type of girl because neither am I!! However I just loved this cold overnight oatmeal!!

What do you think?

