Sunday + Percocet = Muffins {?}

I know what you’re thinking, what the hell is she talking about and whyThis can’t be good.  Am I somewhat close?  Let’s break it down.  It’s Sunday and I like to cook.  As of 3:30, I had dinner in the Crock Pot and two batches of muffins made.  And I can thank my two friends, Wanda the Kitchen Aid and Percocet.

Don’t worry, I don’t normally take pills on Sunday just to pass the time. And Percocet isn’t really a friend.  More of an acquaintance.  I’ll spare you all the details, but let’s just say that sometimes once a month I need them to deal with my pain.  Ever since my ectopic, I have extremely painful cramps that radiate down my right side into my thighs.  Nothing else was working today, so I gave the old P-pills a whirl.  They worked.  And they also got me in the mood to bake.  Again.  And truthfully, baking was the only thing that kept my mind off how whacked out I felt.

Since I’ve put in notice and am quitting my job, I’ve started to really like cooking for my co-workers.  Derek accused me of trying to make them fat before I leave.  Maybe, but I don’t think that’s my motive.  I feel a slight pang of guilt and definite survivor’s remorse.  My cookies, banana bread, and muffins are the least I can do.

So, I made some chocolate macaroon and ginger pear muffins.  I found these two recipes in my Food Network magazine.  They featured 50 muffin recipes in a little pull-out booklet thing.  If you’d like the recipes, they’re on their website. I’m being lazy, I know.

Here they are:DSC_0012 DSC_0013DSC_0017 DSC_0015

I still have no taste buds, so I couldn’t tell you what I think of them.  Derek said they were awesome (but he usually says that about almost everything I make)!

Yes, you did read that right.. I am quitting my job and getting out of the profession.  I will be Miss Gingrich for only four more days.  After that, I will be re-entering the corporate world of office drama, tight hamstrings, and cubicles and will be a mortgage underwriter for Wells Fargo.  It’s a long story and I do intend to blog about it, but I’m just not ready to now.  This is going to be a long and emotional week and I’d rather save my words until I am feeling them. I tend to write better when I am in the zone.  If that makes any sense.  But what I will say is that the reason I am doing it is for these two nuggets right here…

DSC_0035

I want to create a better life for my family with more money and by regaining my mental well-being. It’s time.

Have a wonderful start of the week.

xoxox ~Marisa

P.S. A blog name change will be coming soon too.  Lots of changes, my friends!

What do you think?

