Caramel Apple Pie Cookies

I know, I know–nothing like a new amazing recipe full of sugary goodness while we’re all still trying to lose those extra holiday pounds.  I’ve been at home sick and bored and came across this recipe.

As much as I would like to, I can’t take credit for the recipe, however.  I am a Facebook fan of Sweet Obsessions out of Westminster, Colorado.  I found her back in December when I needed cupcakes and cake pops for Derek’s 40th b-day party.  Here’s the link to her website: HERE.  Or, if you prefer, find her on Facebook.  She posts cool recipes, has contests, and is always baking! And did I mention how good her stuff tastes? It’s gooood!

When I saw her post of the caramel apple pie cookies, I had to try making them myself.  And a word on caramel.  Where I’m from (the east), the word is 3 syllables and pronounced car-a-mel.  Out here in cowboy country, it’s condensed down to 2 syllables and is said car-mull.  I don’t know which is right and I flip back and forth depending on who I am talking to.  I know, this is riveting.

Without further ado, Caramel Apple Pie Cookies.  {I hear they’re fabulous.  I am stuffed up and can’t taste a thing.  Bummer for me.}

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2  c flour
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1 t salt
  • 1 c diced apple (fresh or dried)
  • 3/4 c unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 c sugar
  • 1/2 c brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 t vanilla
  • 1 T cinnamon
  • 3/4 bag caramel bits (or use caramels just cut into pieces)
  • 1 T sugar
  • 1 T cinnamon
  1. Preheat oven to 350. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper or use SilPat (this is a must if you don’t want your cookies to stick)
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon.
  3. In the stand mixer, cream together the butter, sugar, and brown sugar until smooth
  4. Add the egg and vanilla.  Beat until incorporated.
  5. On low, slowly add flour mixture one cup at a time just until mixed.
  6. Stir in apples and caramels.
  7. Chill dough for 30 minutes.
  8. Using a cookie scoop or large spoon, place 2 inches apart on prepared cookie sheets.
  9. In a ramekin or small bowl, combine the 1 TBSP of sugar and 1 TBSP of cinnamon.  Sprinkle over cookies.
  10. Bake 15 minutes or until golden brown.
  11. Cool

DSC_0006

DSC_0007

Again, since I can’t taste anything, I relied on my trusty guinea pigs, Derek and Ella.  Ella gobbled hers up.  And Derek agreed that these really do taste like apple pie and are REALLY good.  Yay!

Happy Monday.

xoxo ~marisa

2 responses to “Caramel Apple Pie Cookies

What do you think?

