Chunky Knit Cowl {Love}

I’ve been wanting one of these for so long.  So I made one for myself.  And let me tell you, it is the warmest thing I have ever had on my neck.  Ever.  And it was so incredibly easy to knit.

I can’t take credit for the pattern–I found it online.  But I made it my own and did all the rest.

I had 2 skeins of gray alpaca yarn.  My parents actually made it when they lived here in Colorado.  They had an alpaca ranch!  I guess they used to sell the fiber and they also turned it into yarn themselves.  So I used both of those, and when I ran out, I improvised.  I found 2 other Lion Brand colors with similar weight and thickness and decided to do a color block kind of thing.  So here is my chunky knit cowl:

DSC_0034-001

DSC_0033

In a nutshell, I cast on 22 stitches and did the knit stitch for the entire thing.  Since I used a chunky yarn, I used size 15 needles.  I changed the yarn to change colors (still learning to do this well) and then cast off after I reached about 54″.  I blocked and let dry.  Then, I twisted it once and attached the ends with a seam.  Since I’m still a new knitter (less than a year), blocking and sewing a seam were new skills I had to learn for this project.  YouTube really helped, so don’t be scared.

Stitching it together creates the infinity thing, so you never have to worry about tucking loose ends.  The color block aspect is neat too because I can move it around and let different colors show more or less depending on my mood.

I always feel like such a weirdo when I model my own stuff.  I never know where to look, so I always just look down.  I mean, it would be super dorky if I modeled this cowl and stared at the camera with a big, goofy grin.  Looking down toward the ground with a semi-smile just seems more “normal.”

DSC_0032-001

As if standing near a brick wall, and just hanging out in freezing temperatures is normal.  Whatever!  The cowl kept me toasty warm 🙂

xoxo ~Marisa

What do you think?

