Easy Toddler Closet Makeover

I had the misfortune of watching my 2 year old daughter catch her fingers in a closet door.  You know, the outer hinge area on a bi-fold that you can close, and if you aren’t paying attention (or have really little fingers), you can take off a nice sliver of skin.  I saw it all in slow motion and then heard the wails of my child as she fell dramatically into my lap.  Normally when she cries I tell her to shake it off and that she’s all right.  This time, I could feel her pain.  It was then that I made the decision:  bye-bye closet doors.

We’re not those parents who hide or take away the dangers.  We teach her how to be safe around the dangerous things.  {Don’t get me wrong–we don’t usually allow her to run with scissors or leave knives haphazardly on counters.} But this is different.  She’s in a toddler bed now in her big girl room.  Toddler beds don’t have rails.  The last thing we need is for her to get out of bed at 3am, start playing, and then go to her closet and pinch her little fingers in the door.  It would wake us up (haha–mostly kidding there).  Plus, we recently replaced all the old brown doors and trim with nice new white, so the doors had to go anyway.

I hit the internet for some ideas and came up with curtains.  Safe, soft, don’t need to be painted, and washable.  Sweet.  While I was at it, I went to Home Depot and got a closet organizer.  Here’s what we did:

PicMonkey Collage

DSC_0032e

Even though she looks all serious, I did get the princess’ seal of approval!  I’m planning on putting up some tie-backs that will tuck back the curtains when they’re open (which is pretty much all the time).  Since that requires the drill, and I am kind of scared of it still, there’s no telling when that will get done and I wanted to get this posted.  So there you have it!  I think I’ll do this in the guest room as well.  Bummer–I’ll have to re-decorate that room too 🙂

Happy Monday.

~M

What do you think?

