Treasure Hunting

As you may remember, I started a little eBay business venture called ellalunavintage.  I’ve had so much fun collecting and selling my vintage jewelry finds.  In fact, it has become a small obsession.  As most Virgos can attest, when we start something, we become obsessed and persist to be successful.  Well, that’s what I’ve done.  I scour Craigslist, eBay, Etsy, and estate sale websites almost daily.  I also discovered a nearby antique mall, which is huge trouble for me.  I’m always looking for my diamond in the rough.  I’ve had some success buying things for next to nothing and then making a huge profit.  I guess you could say it’s addictive.  And in this economy, the extra money is nice.  It helps to pay for more stuff for me and Ella AND it doesn’t ever come out of our personal checking account.

ANYWAY (man, I can ramble).  A couple of weeks ago I went to one of our local thrift stores–ARC.  The one here in Broomfield is pretty decent and actually doesn’t smell like urine and/or baby vomit.  I usually find some great deals on collectibles and name-brand clothes.  Lately, I’ve been on this glass and crystal kick.  Check out this find:

I got if for $1.99 and I believe it’s an old crystal doorknob, but I’m not 100% sure–the small metal part is kind of small.  But there is a hollow opening that may have been where all the screws went in.  It also looks like the top of a wine decanter, but there’s that hollow hole that wouldn’t make sense.  Either way, it’s beautiful.  I love the ornate scroll work on the metal part:

Because of this find, I have this new obsession and have been hunting for more everywhere.  They have many people selling lots of vintage door knobs and back plates, but not for prices I want to pay. And for what purpose?  I still don’t know.

I think I’m going to do one of 2 things with this… Find more knobs and mount them to a wood board and then turn it into a cool hang rack for Ella’s dress-up clothes.  OR, I might re-finish a small table or something and use the knob as a pull.

On Friday, I went to the Habitat for Humanity Re-Store.  There’s one here in Broomfield that I totally forgot about.  Turns out, it’s the place to find hidden treasures.  And for cheap.  The freakin’ “thrift” stores aren’t as thrifty as they should be, but this place is rad.  Yep, I said rad.  I didn’t find any door knobs I wanted, but I found lots of other stuff.  I saw this amazing stained glass DOOR that I was in love with.  It was so heavy that I couldn’t even move it in order to find a price tag.  I keep dreaming that it will one day be mine because who doesn’t need an 8 foot tall stained glass door?
Check these out.  I got them for a total of $4.  They look like 2 big, round, glass boobies.

I love the crackly look about these–and the ornate brass caps on the ends.  Again, I have absolutely no idea what I might do with them.  I have lots of ideas:  hanging planters; new and improved hanging light fixtures for our patio; votive holders.  I don’t really know.  I found some cool websites which offer lots of inspiration.  And my husband is handy AND an electrician, so he may be able to lend a creative hand.

I know this might be anti-climactic.  I’m writing about a sort-of idea I  have.  I just wanted to get online and say hi. I have been oddly uninspired–until now.  Truthfully, I have been working on a personal piece and it got, well, personal and I am at a stand-still until I can get the cry over with and move on. I’ve been kind of avoiding it.  {It will all make more sense to you later.}  So for now, I’m sharing with you my ideas.

What do you think I could make with this stuff?  Any bright ideas would be much appreciated!

Happy Sunday.

xoxo ~M

One response to “Treasure Hunting

  1. Pingback: Recycle/Re-purpose Vintage Door Knobs…my labor of love « Sticky Fingers·

What do you think?

