Easy Vase Bling

I’ve been laid up on my couch all week and am bored, bored, bored!  And it’s only Tuesday!  I was perusing Pinterest and came across this cute burlap covered vase and really wanted to make one too. I had a case of vase envy.  Alas, I realized that I had no burlap anywhere, so I tried to come up with something else.  I was not quite ready to put on real clothes and drive to Michael’s just yet. I decided to peel my butt up from the couch and slowly made my way upstairs to see what I had in my craft room and what I could make easily and in less than 15 minutes.

I first considered using Mod Podge and scrapbook paper to make a paper covered vase, but I just didn’t want to mess with painting glue onto glass.  Too messy for me today.  Then, I found my cute polka dot tissue paper and Hollywood Raffia spool.  A few cuts, folds, and a knot, and here we are.

I think it’s pretty cute and really easy.  It almost looks like fabric (which you could totally use too).  The bling is removable, so you can toss it when the flowers die or when you get bored with it.  I can see doing this if you’re planning a wedding on a budget.  You could get $1 vases and decorate them to match your color scheme.  Wedding, baby shower, outdoor dinner party–whatever!  I love thrift!

Flowers do a body good. I think I might do this more often and have flowers on my table all year round–not just when people give them to me when I’m sad.

What about you?  Do you keep fresh flowers all year round?

~M

What do you think?

