Chocolate {Love}

It’s been a tough end-of-week, my friends.  Usually by Thursday, the weekend is in sight, and it’s smooth sailing.  Not for this family this time around.  It should have been easy since we just got back into town from a long week in Mexico.  Nope.  It’s been a doozie.

First, my sister learned that her best friend is dying of cancer.  She’s been fighting it for well over a year now and we all thought that she would pull through.  The doctors were hopeful too.  She has a tumor sitting right on her spine and it has been deemed inoperable.  The chemo and radiation only worked temporarily and the tumor has actually grown.  She told my sister last week that she has anywhere from a few days to a few weeks to live.  Needless to say, my sister is heartbroken.  She’ll be flying out to say her goodbyes this coming Wednesday.  I want to write her a card to say my goodbyes as well, but I just don’t know what to say.  I know that the words will come, but I don’t know where to start.  I think I’ll tell her thank you for being such a good friend to my little sister.  And to me.  Ella has a rocking chair that was hers when she was a child.  Maybe I’ll photograph Ella sitting in it and put that in the card.  I just don’t know.

Second, once again I have female drama.  I don’t want to go into massive detail just yet.  I don’t want to jinx it–maybe it will be good news this time.  But this female drama has me unable to travel with my sister to say goodbye to our friend.  Sucks.

Third,  I am fighting with a family member.  I won’t go into detail because I’d like to remain classy and not slander them publicly.  But the lessons were A. a leopard never changes its spots and B. words hurt.

Fourth, I forgot to buy my grandmother a birthday card and her b-day is tomorrow.  She’s been my number one fan and has loved me unconditionally for 35 years and I messed up.  Sorry, G-ma.  I’ll call you tomorrow instead.

So I decided tonight to find myself a little piece of sugary happiness.  I melted some chocolate and dipped stuff in it.  Pretzels, marshmallows, bananas, strawberries, and graham crackers–just stuff we had lying around the house.

I tried to make the white chocolate purple, but the dye seized it up.  Oh well.  I dipped everything and then froze it for a few minutes.

I call this one my Team USA strawberry:

By the way, the plate that all these goodies sit on was a gift from Carla (my sister’s bff)–my sister’s name is Carla too.  Kind of a cute pair all these years 🙂
You know, the chocolate helped.  I ate one pretzel and put the rest in the freezer for next time.  For a few minutes, I didn’t think about the crappy days past and the potentially crappy days to follow.  I know life isn’t always easy.  The true test is how you weather the storm.  That is where your true character lies.  I got this.

Have a wonderful week.

xoxox ~ Marisa

 

One response to “Chocolate {Love}

  1. Pingback: same story, but a little different « Sticky Fingers·

What do you think?

