“What’s in a name?

…That which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet.”

I can’t take credit for that.  That’s Shakespeare and quite brilliant, if you ask me.  If you don’t remember this from high school English, this line is from Romeo and Juliet–one of my all time favorites.  It’s the part where they realize that they’re star-crossed lovers and should not love one another because their families are feuding.  But I wonder if the stigma of their names only added to the appeal.  It’s up there with “Et tu, Brute” and “Something is rotten in the state of Denmark.”  I’m weird, I know.

Anyway, I love this line.  For whatever reason, it has always made me think about names and how important they are.  And as a person whose name is ALWAYS mispronounced, I am pretty passionate about the subject.  I mean, what if my name had been something else?  The original plan was Risa, but my dad thought it was too informal.  At least that’s what my mom always told me.  So they came up with Marisa instead.  What would I have been like if I was Risa?  And if I were a boy, my name would have been Rhett!  Clearly, I wasn’t the only literature lover in my family!  {That’s Gone With the Wind, if you didn’t realize.}  Ella was originally supposed to be Maya but some friends of ours named one of their daughters that but with an alternate spelling.  Would Ella be a different person?  Who knows.

Recently, I have been wondering if my blog could use a new name.  When I originally named it, I thought it was kind of cool and versatile and fit the many aspects and dimensions of my life.  I have sticky fingers because they are always into something.  I cook, I sew, I make crafts, I have a daughter whose hands are usually sticky.  You get my point.  But is this a lame name?  My principal read one of my blog posts and asked my why it was called Sticky Fingers.  He said it sounded like I had a hand in the government corruption. Yep, little old me.  Perception is so interesting! I had truly never thought of that.  From that day on, I doubted my naming skills.

So, I ask you this, my dear readers.  Should I change my name?  It’s hard to encapsulate my entire blog point of view in a catchy and interesting title.  Also, it’s not like I get paid to do this so what difference does it make?  But, I want to be authentic.  Additionally, when I Google Sticky Fingers images, there’s a picture of a guy in black jeans with a bulging “area.” That’s not the image I’d like to project!!  I had no idea it was the name of a Rolling Stones album.  How awful!!

I have some ideas for a new name, but I’d like to see what you all think first.  Please take a second to do my poll:

Thanks!  Your input means a lot to me.

P.S.  I have a photography/history lesson post in the works. It’s taken me longer than I thought because of the heat and getting out to some of the sites to get good shots.  I think it will be well worth it, however.

What do you think?

