{easy} Homemade Blueberry Muffins

I was flipping through my Parents magazine and came across this recipe for scratch made blueberry muffins.  I rarely make muffins from scratch these days, and I really despise the store bought mixes.  I don’t like all the sugar and the fake blueberries they put in them.  Gross and grosser!  I had all the ingredients on hand–including the fresh blueberries–so I said, what the hell.

Well… I thought I had everything until I looked for paper liners and found that I had NONE!  I improvised and used wax paper.  Derek kept shaking his head at me and asked me if I knew what I was doing.  I was determined even more!

I like how they turned out–kind of rustic looking.  (I love how we use the word rustic these days.  It’s the cool way of saying plain and peasant-ish!)  I will warn you, however, if you are planning to try to wax paper squares as I did.  Be sure to cut them down a little once the batter has been poured in.  I splashed the overlapping wax paper with the batter, and it burned and smoked in the oven.  I had to make an emergency cutting session and it was annoying because they were hot.  Luckily, my muffins were okay.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 c all purpose flour
  • 1/2 c sugar
  • 2 t baking powder
  • 1 c milk
  • 1/3 c canola or veg. oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 c fresh or frozen blueberries

Make it:

  • Preheat the oven to 425.  Line a 12 cup muffin pan with paper liners or spray with Pam.  (I cut wax paper squares)
  • In a large bowl, combine the dry ingredients.  In a medium bowl, whisk together the milk, oil and eggs.  Pour the wet ingredients over the dry mixture, add blueberries and mix it all together with a fork.
  • Use an ice cream scoop to fill each cup 3/4 full.  Bake 15-18 min, or until muffins are golden and springy to the touch.

How easy is that?  Scratch made muffins!  I really liked the taste of these–not too sweet and not full of gunk.  The recipe called for buttermilk or whole milk–yeah, we don’t have these in the house–ever.  I used 1% and they turned out fine.


I hope you try these!  They are so easy–even if you don’t bake a lot you can do these.  And they’re easy enough that you could let your kids lend a hand.

Happy Weekend!

~Marisa

4 responses to “{easy} Homemade Blueberry Muffins

  1. Did you serve them for Father’s Day breakfast or did you eat them warm from the oven last night? They looked very good. Thanks.

    • Neither–I made them Saturday morning. Derek and Ella gobbled them up right out of the oven. xoxox

  2. Thanks for this recipe! 🙂 I have always been really bad at going after recipe, cause I intend to add things to it. 😀 It can also be bacause I am lactose intolerance and vegetarian so I do need to change them many times so it fits to what I can eat 🙂 My first bake of those were two days ago. Instead of having regular milk I made them with lactose free milk and then I added chopped chocolate pieces. They tasted really good but I felt like there was something missing, so yesterday I made another serving and added a teaspoon of vanilla extract instead of the chocolate. That was delicious! Can highly recommend adding the vanilla! It was my first time making muffins, really surprised me how amazingly easy it is to make! Thank you so much for the inspiration!

    • So glad these were easy for you. I was never a fan of scratch made muffins either–we have issues baking with the altitude in Colorado. Adding vanilla is a great idea. Next time I’ll try it!

What do you think?

