The Extra Words Phenomenon

I use the word phenomenon because I don’t really know a better word to use.  I think you all will know what I’m talking about in a second.  And I hope that you despise it as much as I do.  I don’t know–I need a few partners in crime so that I don’t feel like such a weirdo for caring about this (and spending the time writing this post).

Here’s what’s bugging me tonight: extra, meaningless words.

  1. today–So I’m getting ready to pay at the grooming salon and they say to me, “It will be $45 today.”  First, I want to punch them for charging forty-five freaking dollars for a dog’s haircut.  Then I want to hit them for saying today.  Of course it’s today.  If it was $45 yesterday and paying it today, I would be in trouble.  And if it were $45 tomorrow, my dog’s hair would not be cut today.  I wouldn’t be there today.  What the hell?  It just sounds stupid!
  2. price point–This is just dumb to me.  I hear people say, “Oh, this is a fabulous house for this price point.”  What?  How ’bout just price, or budget, or price range?  Price point just sounds uppity and fake.  Maybe I don’t really know what it means.  I don’t know.
  3. I’ll be honest–This one really bugs me.  Here are examples.:  Someone is talking and says, “I’ll be honest–it was 100 degrees today” or, “I’ll be honest.  I really hate Wal-Mart.”  I don’t know.  I kind of expect people to be honest when they’re talking about mundane things.  You never hear, “I’ll be honest.  Wifey, you look nasty when you wear that dress.”  Or, “Hubby, I’ll be honest with you. You have really small… feet.” No one says the phrase when they’re supposed to tell the truth about something that matters.  Know what I mean?
  4. I can certainly appreciate that I hear this one a lot from sales people.  When they run their stupid pitch to you and you tell them no for such and such reason, they say, “Well, I can certainly appreciate that.”  No, you can’t really appreciate that I can’t afford a $475/mo. car payment.  Or that I don’t want your stupid newspaper because I read my news online.  How can you appreciate that?  Do you know what appreciate means, fool?  You must not.  I appreciate my husband for being thoughtful.  How can you appreciate someone’s notion to turn you down for something?  I wonder what stupid salesperson handbook that is indexed in.

Please don’t get me wrong.  I don’t feel like I’m intellectually superior to anyone.  I really don’t.  These are just some pet peeves.  I relate it to social awkwardness.  You know how some people are really uncomfortable when it’s silent?  Like they have to fill every minute with a sound?  Some people hum and others just make stupid small talk.  That’s how these words are to me.  They’re fillers.  Or they think it makes them sound smart or profound or something.  I don’t know.  Either way, it’s annoying.

I have a long list of misuses, words that don’t exist but are used anyway (irregardless), and phrases only used in Colorado that irritate me, but I’ll keep those to myself.  I don’t want to sound like a total bitch on this lovely 95 degree night.  Plus, this time in three days, we’ll be in Cabo.  Hopefully having a late night stroll on the beach.

I mean, I’ll be honest.  We’re really looking forward to it.  My parents are treating us to the trip so it’s basically free.  For that price point, who can go wrong?  We booked 2 tee times on beach side golf courses.  We also have an 8-hour fishing trip planned.  It was kind of funny, though, when I made the tee time at Cabo Country Club.  The guy asked me if I wanted to make it a foursome instead of just a twosome.  I told him no because only 2 would be playing.  He said that he certainly appreciated that and I continued with my credit card number.  I’ve never heard of a pro shop trying to up-sell on a tee time.  Oh well–that’s Mexico for you.  Thank you for reading my little blog today.  I truly appreciate each and every one of you that reads my nonsense.

Happy Monday Eve.

~Marisa

 

 

5 responses to “The Extra Words Phenomenon

  1. I enjoyed your blot very much but you are quilty of one of my peeves. The use of the word “really”. “I am really looking forward…”; “You have really small feet”. “I really don’t”.
    It’s funny the things that bug us.

    • Yeah.. I do use that word way too much. I know it too and am sometimes too lazy or don’t even notice. It is funny what bugs someone but not another.

  2. As always, I love reading your blog…I love the “today” one – so if it is $45 today, what will it be tomorrow? Am I getting a good deal TODAY or does the price go down TOMORROW? DUH! I have to be honest, I really, really, really think you are a talented writer and hope to be reading one of your children’s books in the future – provided that it is a good book for its price point – I’m sure you can appreciate that. Enjoy your week!

    • Thanks, Molly! I hope that dream comes true too. I have a story line in mind, but I just don’t know where to start. I am thinking a few more years of reading books to Ella will point me in the right direction.

  3. Yep that was an interesting read! I bet if you asked other readers they would compile a list of so many phrases and words you could write a long college essay. You do have “A Way With Words.”

What do you think?

