Fireworks! Cookies

I’m so excited to share this with you.  In case you didn’t know, I’m not the only crafty one in the family.  My sister, Carla, is quite the crafty crafter as well.  A couple weeks back, she and I were on the phone.  She told me that she and her step-daughter were going to be baking cookies that night and “they were gonna take a long time.”  I was kind of worried because it was Friday night at like 7pm already.  I turn into a pumpkin around 9pm, so I was scared for her!  When we went over to her house for a visit that Sunday, we saw the end products.  They were gorgeous!  Fireworks cookies!

Basically, these are sugar cookies and royal icing done with a kick-ass swirl pattern.  Carla’s inspiration was taken from the July 2011 Martha Stewart Living recipe here.  Personally, I feel like Martha sometimes forgets that we have busy lives.  My sister has done a wonderful job adapting these cookies to fit into a normal person’s schedule. So, without further ado, here you are (in Carla’s words):

I found the idea from July 2011 issue of Martha Stewart Living magazine.  I changed some things up from the recipe…1st, I didn’t make the sugar cookies–I bought a great alternative, Pepperidge Farm Soft Bake Mystic Sugar Cookies (8 to a pack).  2nd, I made a traditional  meringue with  egg whites and cream of tartar instead of using meringue powder & water (mainly because I forgot to get the powder, but I hear it’s sold at craft stores).  3rd, I bought the gel icings because the mixture amounts have to be exact and I don’t do exact.  Super Target has about 6 colors and with a kinda metallic sparkle.  King Soopers has more colors but no sparkles 😦  And 4th, I didn’t measure/weigh the confectioners sugar– I just added it until the consistency was good. 

You have to move kinda quickly once the white icing is on the cookies because it starts to set and harden.  If you pull a toothpick through partially set icing it will only make a line, rather than the pulled effect.  I recommend doing a few at a time.  I also recommend lots of colors, we had only three or four and wished we had more 🙂 

These are super fun and easy if you go with store bought cookies and gel icings!!!  It was fun to try different patterns.  I’m not sure which my favorite is.  We will be making these for most holidays and definitely Halloween for that spider web look.

Pretty, pretty cookies!  I wish I would have tried one when we were there.  I was too busy warding off my sugar addiction.  These would have been worth the splurge.  I kind of feel like they’re too pretty to eat!  But, she’s right–these would be fun for Halloween, Christmas, and July 4th (as Martha did).  You could color coordinate a baby shower, birthday party–whatever!! 

I really enjoyed having my sister contribute to my blog.  Hopefully, there will be more to come!

~Marisa

What do you think?

