“Eat Your Broccoli!”

We always seem to have an overabundance of broccoli at home.  I don’t know why.  Ella loves it, which is pretty cool for a toddler.  Lately, however, steaming it and putting salt and pepper on it has really lost its appeal.  I’ve heard of people melting Velveeta and spooning it on top, but that just isn’t how we eat in our house.  I’m not a fan of “processed cheese-food.”  Derek puts mayo on his broccoli, but that’s boring too.  Then I saw a charred broccoli recipe in my Food Network magazine.  I didn’t have many of the ingredients that the recipe called for, so I improvised.

First, I made a simple vinaigrette of soy sauce, honey, rice wine vinegar, olive oil, crushed red pepper, and black pepper.  I chopped up about a quarter of a red onion, sliced a red bell pepper, and sliced about 6 baby portobellos and placed all that in the vinaigrette.  Then, I cut 2 broccoli crowns into florets and put them in a separate bowl and tossed them with olive oil.

If you have a grill pan, use it!  Use it often!  It’s great for stuff like this.  I put the broccoli on the pan after it got nice and hot.  I let the little broccoli flowers get slightly charred before I turned them.  Charring it really brings out the nutty flavor of the broccoli–so different from your basic steaming.  Once the broccoli was to my liking, I added the other bowl to the pan.  I have issues digesting raw peppers, so I cooked it just enough to soften them a little, but yet still keep some of their crunch.

I served it with fresh Steelhead from Costco and a whole wheat Pillsbury biscuit. Pretty delish, my friends.  You could add a little sesame oil to the broccoli for a totally different taste, or add sriracha to really spice it up.  It’s a versatile little veggie!

Here is the second part–a little bonus… Vodka and raspberry iced tea!!

My sister got me these iced tea bags for Mother’s Day.  I brewed it up according to the package’s directions.  I added it to vodka, ice, and lime juice.

This was the beverage I sipped on as dinner was cooking.  It was pretty good on its own, but if you prefer more sweetness and fizz, you could add Sprite to it.  Or a simple syrup and club soda.  Or fresh raspberry puree.  Whatever.  It’s vodka. It’s a versatile little alcohol!

I hope my little recipe gives you some ideas to spruce up your broccoli!

~Marisa

One response to ““Eat Your Broccoli!”

What do you think?

