6-Hour {?} Throw

Well, my friends, the damn thing is done.  Finally!  This was my second ever knitting project, but I got it done after I had started on my third project–the angry washcloths.

Here’s the photo from when I started it.. back in March!  I chose this free pattern from the Lion Brand Yarn website.  They offer a ton of  patterns and they label them by ability level.

This was called the 6-hour throw and it was labeled as beginner.  I would give them 5 stars for accurately labeling it as a beginner project.  It was pretty easy.  The only major challenge was teaching myself how to change yarn skeins when the first set ran out.  I watched a YouTube video like 6 times and then I tried it myself.

However, it was definitely not a mere 6 hours of knitting.  Getting the stupid fringe on there took over an hour in and of itself.  Sure, I used the phallic looking “speed sticks,”  but it was more like 10-12 hours.  And let me tell you about the speed sticks.  After a while, knitting with those really started to hurt my arms.  I had 32 stitches jammed on there, so as it grew, it got really heavy.  I also had 4 strands of yarn going at the same time, so there was a lot going on there.  I neglected to read the reviews BEFORE I jumped in.  Oh well.  Live and learn.

The pattern online called for some really kind of ugly color combination.  I chose my own. I’m rebellious that way.  I used the Lion Brand Homespun yarn in 3 colors–grape, baroque, and rococo.  Basically, it was purple, tan, and light purple.  I took 2 strands of grape and 1 each of the other 2 for a total of 4 strands.  I did the stockinette stitch–which is knit one row, purl the next.. and on and on until you run out of yarn (8 skeins total).  I like how the ends kind of look braided.

Here it is:


The Homespun yarn frays really quickly and turns into a fuzzy mess.  I knotted the ends of each and every blasted fringe.  There is just a small fuzz on the ends below the knots, which looks kind of cool.

Now I feel like my purple lamp and brown furniture come together more cohesively.

My second joy of the week has been my new Nikon D3100 D-SLR camera.  I have talking about getting one for months!  Finally, my dreams were answered.  While taking pictures of the blanket, I took some shots of Bella.

Notice the close up of her, but yet blurred background?  Yeah, it has something to do with aperture and focal depth…I think it’s called blokeh.  You can’t do that with a point and shoot.  I don’t know–the camera is complicated and I need some help learning all of its amazing features.  A class/workshop might be up my alley.  I mean, what else do I have to do other than teach summer school and Ella’s Saturday swim lessons?  Plenty of time :/

Since it’s getting warmer, I really have no intention of making another blanket anytime soon.  I’m sticking to the small stuff–experimenting with my yarns and needle gauges.  If I make something good, I’ll be sure to share it with you.

Have a great week!

~Marisa

6 responses to “6-Hour {?} Throw

  1. Wow I have never seen knitting needles that size before. I know I was supposed to be looking at your blanket but I really love that lamp =) I looked at your other knitting posts too and I wouldn’t have guessed these were your first knitting projects.

    • Thank you for the compliments. Yes, the scarf was my first project and then I started the throw. The washcloths were super easy and are so soft on the skin. I have lots of alpaca fiber that my parents gave me. I think I’m going to get a jump on Christmas and starts some cowls.
      I love the lamp too–it’s from American Furniture Warehouse here in Colorado. I love purple and HAD to have it!

  2. Gorgeous! I really like the color combo-great choice- and I agree about the fringe- it really looks rich. You are certainly a woman of many talents.

  3. Oh yes it is a beauty. Lavender is a favorite color. I love it. Would you knit one for the SLO house…it would be absolutely perf. Just kidding.

  4. Thank you so much for this. I’m a blogger out of Colmar, France and what I just read here on wordpress.com could not be written any better. Going through this article reminds me of my previous roomie, Bebe. He incessantly kept preaching about this. I most certainly will send these ideas to him. I’m certain he will have a good time reading this.
    I appreciate you for posting this.

What do you think?

