Great Little Weekend

You know when you have one of those weekends when you feel like  you’ve done nothing in particular, but everything and anything?  Or you can’t remember specifically what you did, but you know that you did a lot?  Yeah, that’s the weekend I’ve had.  But it’s been one of my best weekends in a long time.  In fact, probably one of my favorites of the year.

I don’t want to spend a lot of time talking about myself or the stuff I did just for me this weekend.  Let’s just say that I got a mental recharge and am centered once again.  I got a clean bill of health from my uterus doctor and it seems like I’m back to normal.  I also got my hair colored and it looks fabulous.  A nice honey brown with pretty blond highlights. The best part of this weekend, however, was spending time with my family.

I don’t know about you, but I love the transition from spring to summer.  The temperatures fluctuate from day to day and the sun stays out longer.  One day you might wear shorts and the next day you’re back to a sweatshirt. It was 85 on Saturday and then 65 on Sunday.  That’s Colorado for you.  When I got home from my hair appointment on Friday, I was greeted with a wonderful sight.  My husband was watering the grass with the hose and Ella was playing in the water.  Here are some pics:

Yes, those are 2 Phillips head screwdrivers in her hand.  The kid is obsessed with tools and I have watched her putter around Derek’s toolbox.  Too cute!  About an hour after these pictures were taken, we loaded up into the car and headed to Boulder.  Derek’s boss hosted a BBQ at his house.  His deck sat atop a cliff that overlooked the mountains.  It was kind of a rickety deck, and clearly not child-safe, but it was gorgeous:

Ella made friends with 2 little sisters, and had such a ball chasing after them all night long.  She actually got so tickled that she started running for one of them and kept running and never realized that the steps were below her.  I watched her dive down 2 steps and onto her head.  She screamed in Mommy’s arms for a few minutes, and then she was back at it.  No harm, no foul.

That same night, we realized her love affair with all things water.  She played with a bucket of water and a plastic cup until her clothes were soaked.  So, on Saturday I headed out to Toys R Us (kinda have a love/hate relationship with that store) and got her a sand and water table–it’s the Little Tikes Sandy Lagoon Water Park.  She actually cried when we brought her in for dinner.  This is her new BFF:

Derek got some stuff done on Saturday too.  During nap time, I headed to Home Depot and got some new landscape lighting.  Low voltage, 20 watts, outdoor, low profile flood lights for $10 each.  Derek mowed the grass and then hooked them up around our pond/fountain.  As the sun started to go down, I snapped a few shots.

That’s Pete above.  He’s our number 1 offender for wrecking all things related to the yard.  Let’s see how long it takes him to wreck the new lights.

We had a Skype session with one set of grandparents this weekend.  You know, I get this tremendous sense of satisfaction when Ella says something cute, does something smart, or just looks adorable and her grandparents see it.  They smile and laugh or whatever and I feel so proud that my daughter is the source of that joy.  I don’t know–it’s truly like nothing else.

Ella is saying “thank you” and “bless you” and covers her mouth and says “excuse me” when she burps.  So cute!  She also has started singing the ABCs.  It’s more like, “A, B, C, B…” then the rest is incomprehensible with a W thrown in there.  But it’s the start of something and it’s quite amazing to hear.  Every weekend I get to know my daughter a little bit more. She’s daring and very confident.  She’s a semi tom boy who is also obsessed with Mommy’s “hair bows.”  She eats her veggies but hates chicken.  She sleeps with a pillow now and pulls up her blanket to her chin.  She’s a mini-human.  She’s breathtaking.  And she’s mine.  I am in constant awe that we made her.

This morning we had a little family photo session.  It was called a mini-session because it was only a half hour long.  It was actually perfect because Ella started to have a pre-nap meltdown right in the middle of the park.  That was fun.  But I think she looked adorable and I can’t wait to see the photos!

We went grocery shopping and it was the usual drag.  We constantly have to ask Ella to sit on her bottom in the cart, but she rarely listens. In fact, today she actually tried to stare Derek down.  It was a fight for power and he won.

It’s really hard to be mad at this kid!  I got her 2 kinds of frozen fruit pops AND chocolate graham bunnies.  Spoiled!  And then there were pineapples.  I don’t know what the deal was–I think Hawaii went berserk, but there were mounds of pineapples at Sprouts for $0.97 each.  We got 2.  I’m sure that anyone who saw me snap this photo thought I was a weirdo.

We did the mundane stuff that every family does every weekend, but this weekend it was different.  I didn’t go off on the random stranger at Wal-Mart for walking into the exit door like I usually do.  I didn’t beep or flip anyone off driving either.  Nor did I pick a fight with Derek or threaten my dogs with the pound.  Maybe it’s because I’m out of my hormonal haze.  Or maybe it was different because it was hot and the start of summer. I don’t know.  But spending the weekend with my little family was pretty awesome.

I hope you all have a wonderful week.

xoxo ~Marisa

What do you think?

