Monday Night Italian

I know, I know, I’m Italian every night.  Lucky me.  And I have to mention Polish and Portuguese, but the majority of me is marinara.  Hot, Italian sauce.  Just kidding 😉

Anywhoosie, I made a really simple Italian meal for dinner tonight and my family seemed to enjoy it.  Here’s what’s in it:

  • hot Italian chicken sausage
  • farfalle (bowtie) pasta
  • mushrooms
  • broccoli
  • 1/2 c tomato sauce
  • 1/2 c ricotta
  • salt/pepper/crushed red pepper
  • Parmesan

Before we get started, I want to mention the proper way to say ricotta.  It’s pronounced ree-coit-uh (sort of), not rih-cott-uh or ri-coat-uh. It kind of has a soft t sound.   If you’re from NY or certain parts of NJ, you might say it ree-cot and leave off the a.  If you really want to piss off an Italian, which I don’t recommend, say ricotta and mozzarella wrong.  Shoot, call us Eye-talian and you might lose an eye!  And if you say my name wrong, it’s all over pal.  In case you didn’t know, I’m Ma-reeeee-sa (like Lisa), not Ma-risss-a.  It means “of the sea.”  Pretty cool.  Lastly, whole wheat pasta is just gross.  It’s an insult on us!  There, I said it.  OK, rant done. Back to cooking…

While your pasta is boiling away, steam the broccoli.  Drain it out and add the mushrooms.  Cook it down for a few minutes and then add the tomato sauce.  Let it all soften up for a few minutes until the pasta is done.  Meanwhile, have your husband grill the chicken sausage.  Cut it into slices and then add it to the sauce mixture.  Add ricotta and seasonings and stir well.  Then, add that mixture to the pasta.  Sprinkle with Parmesan and serve. Easy peasy!

It’s Monday night and I’m usually still getting over the fact that my weekend is over.  Pasta is comfort to me.  Yum.

Hope you all have a fabulous week.  Message me if you’d like some more pronunciation lessons!

xoxx ~Marisa

 

What do you think?

