[Angry] Knitted Washcloths

I know what you’re thinking:  what a strange title for a post.  I started knitting these washcloths in a fit of frustration and anger.  Well, it was more like an attempt to calm myself down after a nutty day on the job.  During my planning period, I sneaked over to Hobby Lobby and bought myself some needles and yarn.  I have been wanting to make some dishtowels and wash rags, so I found a nice cotton yarn and I was off.

We have a little after-school program on Tuesdays called Tues-Tastic.  We sit around, gossip, play chess, eat nachos, play basketball, and shoot the breeze.  I sat at the teacher hang-out area and knitted.  I was in my own little world and I was quite content.

I finished the first washcloth a day or two later and then started on the next one to complete my set.  I was over my anger at that point, but thought it would be nice to have 2.  I would say that each washcloth takes about 3 to 4 hours from start to finish.  And if you are a pro, it would probably take you half that time.  I used 100% cotton yarn–Sugar-n-Cream Naturals with a variegated color strand and size 7 needles (4.5 mm).

Here’s what I did:

  • Cast on 30 stitches
  • Knit the next 4 rows; turn
  • *Knit 3, purl 24, knit 3; turn
  • Knit next row*
  • Repeat between *s until desired length
  • Knit the next 3 rows
  • Bind off
  • Weave in the ends

I have never used size 7 before, so it took me a few rows to get a hang of the tension.  It’s really challenging if you pull too tight and it looks horrible if the stitches are too loose.  I think it turned just right.  A trick to make a perfect square is to fold up one corner so that it’s parallel with the needle.  If it meets perfectly and no overlap, then you’re square.


Super easy and super quick–just the way I like it!

~Marisa

PS. I’m STILL working on my blanket that I started after I finished my scarf last month.  It’s hot and bulky and I am so over it!  But it’s almost done and will be sharing that with you soon.

2 responses to “[Angry] Knitted Washcloths

  1. Pingback: 6-Hour {?} Throw « Sticky Fingers·

What do you think?

