: not your average bun :

I love my bun, however I need a new one.  A new look with a whole new attitude.  I have been telling myself this for a while.  And whenever I do, for some dumb reason the Huey Lewis song “I Want a New Drug”  comes into my head.  Don’t know why.  Maybe just because it rhymes.  Maybe my bun is my drug.  I don’t know.

But here it is.  My basic teacher look.  Pretty drab.  Yet so functional and comforting.

I have a lot of hair.  It’s thick and wavy and a lot of work to straighten out every day.  On the days that I just don’t give a damn, which is most days, I wash and dry it, straighten out the front pieces with my Chi and then pull it up into a bun.  Between my bun and my glasses, I don’t think my students really know what I look like.  I’m a mystery.  All I need now is a chain from which to hang my glasses from and I’ll have the entire frumpy teacher look pegged!

Since the last day of school is 7 weeks away, I thought it might be high time to figure out what kind of bun I’d be wearing this summer.  I looked online to see what the latest trends were and I saw braids.  I LoVe braids!

Here’s the first one I came up with.  The waterfall braid is all the rage, so this is my simpler take on it.  A little partial french braid down the side and then I pulled it back into a bird’s nest type thing. I didn’t pull the ponytail all the way through and then pinned up the loose ends with bobby pins.

So Derek took these photos and when I turned around for this shot, he asked me, “What happened to the back of your head?”  Me: “It’s supposed to be messy.  Does it look OK?”  Him: “All except the back.”  Well, that made me question my hairdo all day.  But I got a few compliments at school and decided that he really had no idea how cool the hairdo was.  Sorry, honey.

The next day I wore another version of my bun.  It was something like this:

I parted it on the side that I normally do and then pulled it into a low ponytail.  I took my fingers and separated the area of hair right above the elastic and kind of created a hole.  I took the end of the ponytail and pulled it under and then through the hole.  It created a kind of french twist.  Then I took some little clips and pinned here and there until the hole and elastic were covered.  It stayed up all day with minimal fuss.  I felt more true to my bun roots with this one.

After both days I was still not satisfied with my new buns.  I wanted to try a third. You always write in threes, so why not try three buns.  Makes sense to me.  Since I am not one for teasing my hair, or using a ton of bobby pins, I tried a similar version of the first braid look.

Instead of doing a semi-French braid and then pinning it back (like I did in the first one), I did an entire French braid down the side of my head.  Since my hair isn’t quite long enough to braid and wrap around to the other side a la Katniss Everdeen (Hunger Games), I pulled what remained back into a messy ponytail.  I didn’t pull it all the way through and then clipped up the stray pieces.

I liked this one a lot.  The braid got a little loose mid-day, but I think I will get it better next time.  This was only my first shot at it, and I’ve never really been a French braid pro anyway.

Sorry about the photos and lack of continuity in color and text on these.  I took most of them myself and the lights in the bathroom are a little bright.  Plus, my arms were a little shaky so they aren’t the clearest.  Picnik is going bye-bye so I checked out picmonkey to edit up the last few.  Not bad for a free site.  I have Photoshop, but it is just not as quick as I’d like it to be.

If you have any new buns for this old teacher, I’d love to hear about them!

~Marisa

PS.  I like my neck and am thinking of getting a new “decoration” tattooed on it. Thoughts?

2 responses to “: not your average bun :

  1. D doesn’t know cute hair. However, the last one looked as if it had come from a mad romp in the sack.

What do you think?

