The Weigh-In

I’m feeling like this weekend wasn’t the best time to start my new fitness regime.  You know, with Easter and all.  But if I said I’d start next weekend, then I’d spend another entire week putting off my goals.  I’d just beat myself up for that all week, and so the vicious cycle would continue.  I didn’t get my 3 days in this week, but 1 is better than none.  If you didn’t read my intro post and have no idea what I’m talking about, you can view it here.

So here I am.  I decided not to weigh myself and then set some unrealistic pound loss goal.  It’s just not how I roll.  I want to see and feel the difference and not stress about what the scale says.  I’m 5’10” and don’t weigh what the average girl does anyway.  Instead, I decided to measure myself.  And I will re-measure once a month and assess my progress that way.

I’m a little shy, but that’s why I’m doing this…

Measurements on 4.7.2012

  • Bust–38″
  • Waist–34.5″
  • Hips–41″ (ahhhhhhhh)
  • Thighs–23″

Wow–I could have given Marilyn a run for her money if I lived during her time!  In the land of euphemisms, we like to call my shape curvy.  Thankfully not curvy like an apple!  I like to think of myself as a slightly pear-shaped hourglass.  If the word hourglass is in the title, then I’m OK with it!

_______________________________________

Week 1 Workout Journal:

  • Saturday:  39 min on treadmill 3.6 mph; stretch machine

_______________________________________

My plan is to post weekly workout journals and any food secrets (including cheating) worth mentioning.  And then when I do my monthly measures, I’ll post those too.  This is really going to keep me honest.

As I walked briskly and  sweated it out to Rob Zombie on the treadmill this afternoon, I had a few thoughts.

  1. I’m not that bad.  I don’t mean to sound all ego-inflated, but my body is really not bad to look at.  It looks better in dim lighting and from afar without my glasses on, for sure.  But I don’t feel daunted and overwhelmed like I did after I had Ella.
  2. I care about myself.  In the end, I’m not doing this because I have to look good for Mexico.  It’s about putting myself first and not feeling guilty about it.  My health and well-being are important to me.  When I don’t feel all right about how I look, I am a pretty miserable person.  And I don’t think that makes me vain.
  3. I’m beautiful on the inside and I love who I am.  I combined the last two because I thought I’d sum it up into 3 points–it’s a nice, neat number.  Even at 35 years old, I am still working on my self-esteem.  I’m not sure what happened to me as a child, but I have never, ever felt OK or at ease with who I am or what I look like.  Brown wavy hair, brown eyes, tall, round hips…all traits that I never learned to love.  But my hips are pretty–men have told me so, and women have envied them.  Shoot, they made childbirth a breeze!  And Ella has my eyes and they’re gorgeous.  Why has it always been so hard for me to love myself?  And why have I never learned to rock what I have?  Whatever the reasons, I don’t care.  I am in charge of how I feel about myself and this is step 1.

Thanks for listening.  All of my progress reports won’t be so long and touchy-feely.  I just want you to know where I’m coming from.

I wish you all luck and I hope that some of you join me on this endeavor.  Feel free to post anything that you’re doing that’s working or not working, or any words of wisdom, encouragement, bitch sessions..whatever!

xoxo ~Marisa (aka the pear-shaped hourglass)

One response to “The Weigh-In

  1. Pingback: It’s Truth Time…The Weigh-In « Sticky Fingers·

What do you think?

