Let the Countdown Begin

Tickets are booked and the timeshare is confirmed.  Derek, Ella and I will be taking a week-long vacation with my parents in Cabo San Lucas in July!!  Did I mention that we’re going to Mexico for an entire week??!  Warm sun, salty ocean, sunscreen, snorkeling, and tequila.  It’s exactly what the doctor ordered for this family.  And thanks to my dad and step-mom for making it happen 🙂

It’s super exciting, but since I’m a Virgo and a pain in the ass, I feel a little anxiety.  I have anxiety for two reasons.

  1. I have to go shopping.  I have to be sure to be stocked up on all the latest resort attire. I need tote bags, flip-flops, dresses–for me and Ella.
  2. I need to get my body beach-ready.  This is the real heart of the matter here.  I know it’s only April in Colorado and I should be pale.  But I’m talking more than just a base tan.  I am talking a major body overhaul.  Eeeks!

I must admit that I am pretty proud that I still wear the same size after having a baby (18 mos ago mind you).  But things have shifted and I ain’t as good as I once was.  My poor boobies…  I can’t really do much about my fun bags, but I can trim down, especially my hips and thighs, and that’s what I aim to do.

I will be using my blog as a tool to help me on my journey.  It will be my little diary and it is my hope that all of you help me stay on track and motivated.  My intention is not to do some stupid crash diet that will make me fatter in the end.  I need a little lifestyle adjustment and Cabo is my motivator. And not to mention that a fit mom is a sexy mom.

When I was 25 I was FAT.  I lost 30 pounds in 3 months though, so I know I can do this.  I also gained 30 pounds when I was pregnant with Ella and lost all of it, so I know I can do this. But I am 35 now, have a lot of pain in my hips, and have a lot on my plate, so this might be a little more challenging.  But with the support of my husband, I am golden.

The weight loss secret is pretty simple: eat less and exercise more.  I’m not going to count points, nor will I eat for my blood type (what?).  I won’t be cutting out fruit or certain veggies like olives.  I will certainly not be eating a raw diet, consuming cabbage soup, or only grapefruit.  I have to be in public and I do not want to be one giant gas ball. No pills, fat burners, stuff you sprinkle on your food.  You get my point.  I’m going to do this the normal, healthy way.  I gotta get my ass on a treadmill and get going.

Some of the great things about Colorado is its nature and many sunny days.  We live northwest of Denver and there are a ton of trails and lakes to walk around.  I can strap Ella into her Kelty kid pack and go.  Having a 25 pound kid on my back might near kill me, but I’ll be skinny dammit!

My rules are as follows:

  • 1 cheat day per week–anything goes!
  • exercise at least 3x/week while working and then 5x during summer break
  • no refined sugar!!!!!

This is my inspiration photo that was taken 3 years ago…I swear I didn’t edit it–just added a little teeth-whitening!  And that’s my gorgeous little sister, by the way.  I was in pretty good shape back then so I’ll keep referring back to this.

I haven’t figured out all the particulars in terms of how my online blog journal will look, but the plan is in place and my mind is set in motion.  I’ll start my fitness regime and then the rest will fall into place.

I look forward to sharing this venture with you!  And if any of you want to join me, I’d love to have you.  It might be kinda fun!

xoxo ~Marisa

5 responses to “Let the Countdown Begin

  1. Love this Marisa! My friends and I were just talking about Cabo today….one of my all time favorite places 🙂 I need to lose about 20 pounds and feel the exact same way about doing it the right way! ! You will be a motivation for me,!!

    • We’ve never been to Cabo, nor did we take a honeymoon, so this will be so awesome! It’s hard to set time aside for ourselves when we’re parents. I feel like I have put myself last (and thru my own doing) for way too long. I am going to measure all of my “trouble” areas and then re-measure each month. I am hoping that will keep me motivated. Good luck, Lindsay! Let’s try to do this together! P.S. Sorry we didn’t get to meet up when we were in SLO. Seemed like we had no time to breathe!

  2. Hey! So jealous that you are going on all these little trips. I wanted to comment on this post because of course we have been in the same boat having our little ones about the same time. I just started doing the Kettlebell and love it and have already lost some weight. I also have been doing yoga and running. These are my quick tips/thoughts on what my new exercise craze is. You can do it Marisa!! …btw…you look beautiful just the way that you are!

    • I have heard a ton about kettlebell and have been too chicken to try it! I love yoga so I think I might start doing it again on Sunday mornings at my gym. Glad your stuff is working for you. And thanks for the compliments! Miss you!

  3. Pingback: The Weigh-In « Sticky Fingers·

What do you think?

