No Bake Peanut Butter Doggie Treats

Ok, I hate to admit it, but since I have to I will.  Since having Ella, our 4 furry friends have not received as much attention as they once did.  For being dogs, these guys had it made.  D and I took them to the off-leash dog park every weekend, where they could meet and mingle with other locals, run until their feet would bleed, and swim in the pond.  They got new rawhide bones and chew ropes at least once a month.  They were bathed and brushed and neither one of us complained.  My, how times have changed.

They are still well fed and provided for, but they’ve gained a few pounds (haven’t we all).  The brushings are just when the shedding is out of control, the dog park is in doggie heaven now, and new toys are whatever toys they snag from Ella when we’re not looking.  D and I feel badly for them–we really do.  They still have good lives, but they complain a lot.  We kindly remind them that we rescued ALL four of them from impending doom at their previous domiciles.  But they seem to forget about that!

So, in remembrance of their good old days (and to abate my guilt), I made them some dog treats.  I usually make them peanut butter treats that are made like traditional cookies that you roll out, cut, and bake.  Since we just got back from vacation and I feel ULTRA guilty about boarding them for 5 days, I wanted to do something quick.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 c milk
  • 1 c peanut butter (I like the natural Costco brand)
  • 3 c rolled oats

Directions:

  • Combine peanut butter and milk in a large bowl.
  • Stir in the oats one cup at a time. The mixture will be very stiff.
  • Scoop out with teaspoon and then roll into a uniform ball shapes.
  • Place on a cookie sheet lined with wax or parchment paper and refrigerate for at least 1 hour before serving.
  • Makes about 2 1/2 dozen medium sized balls

Yes, that is a soy sauce dish, thank you very much.  Our dogs enjoy eating out of animal shaped things!  Don’t yours?!

I had a hard time getting a good photo of the dogs eating these up.  But truth be told, they were excited and came back for seconds!

This is a simple recipe to get you started making treats of the canine persuasion.  If you’d like more ideas, check out Allrecipes–they have a ton of recipes just for dogs!

My dogs love anything with peanut butter.  Do you have any standard go-to recipes for your pets that you’d like to share?  I’d love to hear about them!

~Marisa

What do you think?

