Souvenir Seashell Jar

Instead of buying Ella a t-shirt that she’ll outgrow in a month, I wanted to make something for her to remember her trip to Santa Barbara.  On our last night in town, we collected all sorts of rocks and shells that were washed up on Avila Beach.  Ella had such a ball combing the shore and playing in the sand, so what a perfect memory to capture.

Anyone can throw a bunch of shells into a jar or bowl and call it a day.  I wanted to create more of a keepsake for her.  I put on my thinking cap and came up with a pretty simple idea.

Supplies:

  • glass jar–I found mine at a thrift store for $2
  • ribbon
  • scrapbook paper
  • sharpie
  • glue
  • tape measure (or you could eye ball it)

First, measure the lip of the jar where you’d like your little banner to go.  Mine was 10 inches, but I added a little more for an overlap to glue.

Try to find the center of your banner and write whatever you want to on there.  Then you wrap it around the lip and glue it on.

The next step is to tie the ribbon on.  I chose something sheer so that the paper and lettering wouldn’t be hidden.  I tied it right below the banner–kind of messing with it until it was in just the right spot.  A tip on the ribbon–if you tie it while standing up and from above, the tails will point down as they’re supposed to.

And then fill ‘er up!  Notice my sand dollar?  Pretty awesome, I think.

You could get really fancy with this and use your printer for the banner.  I didn’t want to mess with it, so I just printed by hand.  You could also take a piece of paper and then overlay it with ribbon.  You could write on the ribbon tails. Or, you could just use two pieces of ribbon and write on the outermost piece.  OR, you could get some glass paint and label the actual jar itself.  The sky’s the limit, people.

Do you see the two brown bowls behind the jar?  Well, Derek made those in his shop class back in high school.  I display them proudly next to a big rock I found on a beach in Florence, Oregon and a pic of me as a little girl.  I love to collect memories.  What about you?

xoxox ~Marisa

One response to “Souvenir Seashell Jar

What do you think?

