Cherry Blossom Earrings

I was so excited to open my email this morning to find my weekly Craftsy newsletter.  If you’re a crafter and haven’t checked out this site, you must.  Now.  One of the things I Iove about it is that it’s in Denver.  The other thing is that you can post pics of your stuff and get feedback on them.  It’s like a Facebook for crafters.  So, check it out–it’s on my blogroll.

Anywhoosie, I saw these earrings and thought they were pretty cute.  Then it occurred to me–I have those same exact blossoms sitting in my bead box and collecting dust.  So I created little earrings of my own.  Thanks for the inspiration, Craftsy!

If you’re new to making jewelry, these are pretty simple and straightforward.  I’d say the most challenging part is making the loops on the headpins.  Since I’m a perfectionist and love symmetry, I get frustrated when my loops don’t look exactly the same.  Hopefully, you aren’t that way–it grows tiresome!  But seriously, I think these took about 15 minutes to assemble after I figured out the colors and design.

Since it’s been so warm and spring-like, I thought these would be fun. Kind of dainty and feminine and a nice little sparkle.  Luckily, I had all the supplies handy.

Supplies:

  • 2 headpins
  • 4 eyepins
  • 2 ear wires
  • 2 glass blossom flowers
  • 8 Swarovski 3mm bicone crystals
  • 2 glass hearts (I collect all things hearts)
  • 2 frosted glass butterflies
  • wire cutters
  • round nose pliers

You could use any color or finish findings–I chose to go with the antique copper look, but the regular silver, gold, or even brass ox would be pretty depending on your bead colors.  I went with pink flowers with a green and topaz color scheme to kind of mimic nature. (Just ignore those round beads in the center–I didn’t use them)

To create earrings, you always start from the bottom.  First, string a flower bead and crystal on to the eyepin so that the loop sticks out of the blossom of the flower.  Then, using the round nose pliers, bend your pin in a 90 degree angle from the top of the crystal bead.  Do this twice–one for each ear (duh).

Using your wire cutters, cut off about half way in the middle of the wire you turned out.  Then turn wire to form loops.  Here’s a tutorial if you don’t know how to do this.  It’s not hard, but takes some practice.

Take another eyepin, and string a crystal, butterfly and another crystal.  Bend the eyepin again and cut it (just like the first time).  At the top, do the same thing with your loop–but don’t close it all the way.

Take the ear wire and put your partially closed loop into it.  Then, close it up.

At the bottom of your butterfly segment, open the loop slightly and attach the blossom segment.  Close that loop.

Almost done.  Take your headpins and string on the heart and last crystal.  Bend wire and make loops–again, not closing the loops and attaching to loop sticking out of blossom.  You could have done this in the beginning, but I don’t like dangling things when I’m working on the rest of the earring.

Ta da!!!!!  They’re kind of old-fashioned, but I like ’em!

I love butterflies–especially this time of year.  Here are a couple more butterfly images that I hope strike your fancy.  These earrings are SUPER simple.  I found the butterflies at JoAnn and they’re made of wood.  I used jump rings and then attached them on to big ear wires and voila!

And here’s little Ella’s adorable butterfly print top in pink and white.  I just love it (and her)!!

I don’t know how warm or spring-like it is in your neck of the woods, but if I didn’t know better, I would think winter is over.  But Denver is probably good for one last snow storm before it’s all said and done.

For me, it’s butterflies.  What makes you think of spring?

xoxox  ~Marisa

What do you think?

