Mission Accomplished: Scarf

Sometimes I surprise myself. For instance, I actually knitted something that is wearable and even kinda purty.  And for my first knitting project, I am pretty darn proud.  Back in February, my sister and I took a knitting class over at Fancy Tiger Crafts in Denver.  The classes were two hours long on two Saturdays and cost $55–which included a nice set of wood knitting needles.  Since I accomplished my mission (the scarf), I’d say the classes were a success!

I didn’t actually clock the man hours on this one, but it took some time.  Instead of watching mind numbing TV, I knitted.  Instead of reading, I knitted.  And instead of teaching, I knitted.  Just kidding on the last one.  And if you’re wondering, like I was, about the past tense of knit, I looked it up. You could use knit or knitted.  Who knew?

So, here’s what I used:

  • Cascade Yarn EcoWool in Latte Ecru Twist–it’s washable and 100% undyed Peruvian Hyland wool (oh so fancy)
  • size 11 knitting needles
  • 1×1 rib stitch (knit 1, purl 1–the entire thing; front and back)
  • cast on 24 stitches

A note about the yarn: The skein was 478 yards–which apparently equals huge in the yarn world.  I didn’t use all of it–not even close.  The yarn is pretty because it has 2 colors twisted together, but it started to make me a little delirious after knitting for a while.  Some good advice I took away from the class is to remember to always choose a yarn color/texture/fiber that you love–you’re going to be staring at it for a while until your project is completed.   

A note about the rib stitch:  This was actually a mistake that turned out to be fabulous.  I intended to do the seed stitch, but I did it wrong.  After much googling and looking on this knitting website for dummies, I realized my beautiful error.

I made it extra long– a little over 6 ft–so I can wrap it a few times or knot it once and have long tails.  I also added fringe to the ends with a crochet hook–pretty easy.  Lastly, I added a few rows of interest at each end–just to break the monotony.

There are lots of errors on this thing… Don’t let my confidence fool you!!

Here it is on me:

So, I’m sure you’re wondering what’s on tap for my next knitting project…I am making a throw for our living room.  A while back, I picked out a gorgeous floor lamp with purple, black and gray in it.  But there is nothing else in the room that is purple.  Until now.  This throw will go nicely against our chocolate color couches.
It’s supposed to take 6 hours TOTAL. We shall see about that.  I am using size 50 needles and 4 strands of bulky yarn at once.  The needles are enormous and kind of clumsy, but I think this will be fun!  Check it out:
Stay tuned for the finished product.  I’ll give you the links to the website where I found the inspiration and the free pattern.
xoxox ~Marisa
4 responses to “Mission Accomplished: Scarf

  1. Welcome to my world!!! Only difference is I crochet!! The scarf is beautiful and looks good on you-think of all the beautiful gifts you can make for family and friends. Love ya

What do you think?

