3-Day Straight

So you may not know this about me, but I really like my hair to be long and straight.  I chopped it off back in 2009 right before our wedding and I’m not sure what I was thinking.  It has finally grown back to where I want it. Sure, it’s a lot of work with a toddler and all, but it makes me *me* so it’s worth it.  My hair is naturally wavy and really thick, so it’s a pain in the ass to style.  What did we do before flat irons?  Anyway, a Facebook friend told me about this product.  It’s called John Frieda 3-Day Straight.  I got it for $10 at Wal-Mart and it’s must-have for all of my fellow straight ironers.    I bought it, did a trial of it, and am here to tell you that it’s pretty awesome.  I have the photos to prove it!

I sprayed on 10 sprays and then blow dried my hair.  I call this my Tina Turner look…Good thing I’m married–geesh!

Now, you have to get your hair really straight in order to see the benefit.

The first photos were taken on a Sunday.. Now, watch the progression from Sunday to Tuesday.  I start to look really tired!! So sad, but such is life…

I know that it’s a little unfair since I live in arid Colorado, but the friend that told me about it lives in Florida.  That says something.  Also, I normally never go 3 days without a shampoo–my hair gets kind of funky.  I didn’t feel too funky.  I washed my hair with a nice clarifying shampoo, like Redkin Cleansing Cream, got all the product out and started over.  I think we’re on to a beautiful relationship here!

Are there any products that you can’t live without?

5 responses to “3-Day Straight

  1. Having really thick and curly hair, Phillips trait, I can not live without my super cheap LA looks styling gel to control my very short hair for blow drying, followed by my very expensive Kenra hairspray for spritzing in place. ALSO can live without my soft brown Clinique brow pencil.

  2. I hope that I can rock short hair someday like you do! Did I hear correct… the chubby stick is back? Or is it a new one? I loved those back in the day!

  3. The chubby stick is back, however, not the formula you are used to. It’s more a gloss stick rather than a lipstick like the first ones. They are really pretty, though!!

  4. Bed Head Shampoo and Conditioner… expensive but I can find it cheap at TJ Maxx. And two little dabs of Paul Mitchell super skinny serum. My hair is wavy and but not as thick…especially since Ive been shedding massive clumps of hair the past year probably due to some nursing hormones (Thanks Roy!). So… it looks frizzy if I don’t blow dry and straighten it but it isn’t as hard to manage as I imagine thicker hair would be! The serum on the ends of my hair gives it a nice shine and keeps it from looking poofy. LOVE the pictures of your hair it looks great after 3 days!! I look like a greasy french fry after 3 days…

  5. I normally look pretty bad after 3 days of no shampoo, but this stuff made the difference I think! I don’t know if you have one near you, but they have the Control Freak and Moisturizing (orange) Bed Head at Costco. It’s a 2-pack shampoo/conditioner combo for $20! Liter size!

What do you think?

